North Dakota Music Teachers Association Affiliated with Music Teachers National Association
North Dakota MTA

Service to the Profession / Teacher Of The Year

Service to the Profession Chair

Amy Mercer

Service to the Profession

NDMTA seeks to recognize individuals, community groups, clubs, schools or businesses within or outside the NDMTA membership, who have contributed to the music profession in North Dakota, by presenting them with a Service to the Profession Award.

Criteria includes anything the nominator deems pertinent, including but not limited to the following:

  • Providing a service to NDMTA and/or its local associations
  • Evidence of support for the activities of NDMTA and its local associations
  • Effect on the music profession as a whole
  • Accomplishments/contributions to NDMTA or the musical community
  • Community involvement related to music
  • Teaching/professional achievement in music
  • General professional music activity
  • Promotion of music awareness
  • Professional achievement - similar to a lifetime achievement award in music
  • Evidence of the pursuit of personal excellence in music

Nomination forms for the Service to the Profession award will be sent to local NDMTA associations in January. A nomination made by an individual member or a representative of a local association is to be accompanied by a letter of support. The award recipient will be determined by an ad hoc committee of 4, appointed by the Service to the Profession chair.

NDMTA Service to the Profession Award recipients

2015 Pam Olson Grand Forks
2016 Beth Klingenstein Bismarck
2017 Scott's Music Store Grand Forks
2018 Dr. Robert Groves Fargo
2020 Dr. Nariaki Sugiura Grand Forks

NDMTA Teacher of the Year recipients from 1994-2013

1994 Sharon Wesbrook Hillsboro
1995 Eloise Halverson Williston
1996 Dr. Diana Skroch Valley City
1997 Dr. Beth Gigante Klingenstein Valley City
1998 Dr. Jane Solose Grand Forks
1999 Dianne Hardy Dickinson
2000 Elizabeth Rheude Grand forks
2001 Eileen Geske* Verona
2002 Carole Flatau Valley City
2003 Sara Bloom Grand Forks
2004 Sara Hagen Valley City
2005 Linda Hanson-Bell Larimore
2006 Corinne Nustad Moorhead
2007 Karen Okerlund Fargo
2009 Marilynn Moe Fargo
2011 Gloria Bethke Grand Forks
2013 Darla Sheldon Park River

*2004 MTNA Teacher of the Year

Member Programs

2015 MTNA State Affiliate of the Year Schmitt Music Popplers Music Store

The NDMTA thanks Schmitt Music and Popplers for their support of the NDMTA website.