North Dakota Music Teachers Association Affiliated with Music Teachers National Association
North Dakota MTA

Local Associations

There are eight local associations in the state of North Dakota. Local associations offer fellowship and networking opportunities with local independent music teachers, continuing education, and programs for students. Local associations are the foundation of NDMTA. Contact one of the local association officers below for information.

Badlands Music Teachers Association

Badlands MTA meets the first Thursday of the month, September to May. Continuing education programs are presented at each meeting.

President Cheryl Dockter
Vice President Priscilla Keogh
Secretary/Treasurer Sandy Weisenberger
Historian E. Jean Guenther

Bismarck-Mandan Music Teachers Association

BMMTA meets at the Bismarck Public Library at 1 p.m. on Saturdays once a month. They will meet every six weeks on Tuesday mornings starting the first week of October.

President Vanessa Wold
Vice President Alisha Harris
Secretary Jennifer Flores
Co-Treasurers Michael Langer
David Poffenberger

Fargo-Moorhead Music Teachers Association

Fargo-Moorhead MTA meets at Olivet Lutheran Church, Fargo, on the first Wednesday of each month from September through May. Visit their website:

President Mary Motta
Vice President Vangie Parker
Secretary Kathy Tsen
Treasurer Wanda Wavra CTM
Corresponding Secretary Jane Feigum

Greater Grand Forks Music Teachers Association

The Greater Grand Forks MTA meets the third Tuesday of each month. Email the Treasurer/Membership Chair for information as to venue.

President Karen Dalager
Technology Communication Gloria Bethke
Secretary Sue Kerr
Treasurer/Membership Kathryn Greene

Langdon Area Music Teachers Association

Langdon Area Music Teachers Association meets in members' homes throughout the school year.

President Lisa Schuler CTM
Secretary/Treasurer Kathleen Johnson CTM

Northwest Music Teachers Association

Northwest MTA meets the second Saturday of the month from September through April with no meeting in December. The meetings are at 2 PM and location varies.

President Ellen Croy NCTM
Vice President Rose Frisque
Secretary-Treasure Ann Delorme Holmen

Upper Valley Music Teachers Association

All area music teachers are invited to attend the new member meeting each fall. Monthly meetings are held at member homes and churches in each community.

President Sheryl Kjelland CTM
Vice President Connie Sjostrom
Secretary Mia Presteng
Treasurer Cindy Olson

Valley City Music Teachers Association

President Eileen Geske CTM

About Us

2015 MTNA State Affiliate of the Year Popplers Music Store JW Pepper & Sons

The NDMTA thanks Popplers and JW Pepper for their support of the NDMTA website.