North Dakota Music Teachers Association Affiliated with Music Teachers National Association
North Dakota MTA

Local Associations

There are eight local associations in the state of North Dakota. Local associations offer fellowship and networking opportunities with local independent music teachers, continuing education, and programs for students. Local associations are the foundation of NDMTA. Contact one of the local association officers below for information.

Badlands Music Teachers Association

Badlands MTA meets the first Thursday of the month, September to May. Continuing education programs are presented at each meeting.

President Cheryl Dockter cheryl.dockter@k12.nd.us
Vice President Priscilla Keogh keogh@ndsupernet.com
Secretary/Treasurer Sandy Weisenberger rweisen@ndsupernet.com
Historian E. Jean Guenther ejeanguenther@ndsupernet.com

Bismarck-Mandan Music Teachers Association

BMMTA meets at the Bismarck Public Library at 1 p.m. on Saturdays once a month. They will meet every six weeks on Tuesday mornings starting the first week of October.

President Vanessa Wold butterflyvanessa75@me.com
Vice President Alisha Harris alishaharris1@hotmail.com
Secretary Jennifer Flores jennifer@mandanmusic.com
Co-Treasurers Michael Langer
David Poffenberger
michael.j.langer@bismarckstate.edu
poffspiano@midco.net

Fargo-Moorhead Music Teachers Association

Fargo-Moorhead MTA meets at Olivet Lutheran Church, Fargo, on the first Wednesday of each month from September through May. Visit their website: http://fmmta.org.

President Mary Motta mottafam2@hotmail.com
Vice President Vangie Parker vangie58801@yahoo.com
Secretary Kathy Tsen kathytsen@aol.com
Treasurer Wanda Wavra CTM wavramw@aol.com
Corresponding Secretary Jane Feigum jerry.feigum@gmail.com

Greater Grand Forks Music Teachers Association

The Greater Grand Forks MTA meets the third Tuesday of each month. Email the Treasurer/Membership Chair for information as to venue.

President Karen Dalager playanencore@hotmail.com
Technology Communication Gloria Bethke gloriab@gra.midco.net
Secretary Sue Kerr susankerr@midco.net
Treasurer/Membership Kathryn Greene kgreene@gra.midco.net

Langdon Area Music Teachers Association

Langdon Area Music Teachers Association meets in members' homes throughout the school year.

President Lisa Schuler CTM lschuler@utma.com
Secretary/Treasurer Kathleen Johnson CTM kathleen@utma.com

Northwest Music Teachers Association

Northwest MTA meets the second Saturday of the month from September through April with no meeting in December. The meetings are at 2 PM and location varies.

President Ellen Croy NCTM dcroy@midrivers.com
Vice President Rose Frisque rose.frisque@gmail.com
Secretary-Treasure Ann Delorme Holmen aholmen@nemont.net

Upper Valley Music Teachers Association

All area music teachers are invited to attend the new member meeting each fall. Monthly meetings are held at member homes and churches in each community.

President Sheryl Kjelland CTM okjellan@polarcomm.com
Vice President Connie Sjostrom dasjos@gra.midco.net
Secretary Mia Presteng mmpresteng@hotmail.com
Treasurer Cindy Olson cgolson@polarcomm.com

Valley City Music Teachers Association

President Eileen Geske CTM degeske@drtel.net
Secretary/Treasurer Geraldine Ong geraldine.ong@vcsu.edu

About Us

2015 MTNA State Affiliate of the Year Popplers Music Store JW Pepper & Sons

The NDMTA thanks Popplers and JW Pepper for their support of the NDMTA website.