North Dakota Music Teachers Association Affiliated with Music Teachers National Association
North Dakota MTA

MTNA Foundation Fellows

Foundation Fellow Chair

Vangie Johnson-Parker
Phone: (701) 770-5263

The MTNA Foundation Fund serves "to advance the value of music study and music making to society through programs that nurture the creation, performance, study and teaching of music, and support the professionalism of music teachers." (

The MTNA Foundation Fund supports many programs for the benefit of the independent music teacher. Among the programs it supports is the Composer Commissioning program, and the awards program including the Local Association of the Year award, the State Affiliate of the Year award, Teacher of the Year award, and the Student Competitions awards. It also supports grants in these areas: Teacher Enrichment, State Affiliate, Local Association, and Program Enrichment.

For more information, visit

NDMTA members contribute to the MTNA Foundation through the honoring of one of their deserving members as a Foundation Fellow. NDMTA has maintained high rankings in the area of percentage of members who donate to the Foundation in the nominated Foundation Fellow's name. When the goal of $1500+ is reached, the Foundation Fellow is recognized at the Gala at the MTNA National Conference with a complimentary ticket to the Gala and a MTNA Fellow pin and certificate.

NDMTA Foundation Fellows

The following NDMTA members have been honored with the Fellow designation:

2001 Janie Green, Fargo
2003 Eloise Halverson, Williston
2004 Dr. Frank Pearson, Dickinson
2005 Carole Flatau, Valley City
2006 Beth Klingenstein, Valley City
2007 Sharon Wesbrook, Detroit Lakes, MN
2008 Marilynn Moe, Fargo
2009 Diana Skroch, Valley City
2010 Ruth Stenson, Thief River Falls, MN
2011 Sally Rudolph, Wahpeton
2012 Sara Bloom, Grand Forks
2013 Eileen Geske, Verona
2014 Karen Okerlund, Fargo
2015 Priscilla Keogh, Dickinson
2016 Jan Herr, Fargo
2017 Kathleen Johnson, Langdon
2018 Arlene Gray, Bismarck
2019 Corinne Nustad, Fargo
2020 Gloria Bethke, Grand Forks
2021 Marjorie Johnson, Fargo

Member Programs

2015 MTNA State Affiliate of the Year Schmitt Music Popplers Music Store

The NDMTA thanks Schmitt Music and Popplers for their support of the NDMTA website.